• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 5. Getting Started With Dreamwea... > Publishing Your Web Site with Dreamw...

Publishing Your Web Site with Dreamweaver

You're ready for this section when you have a completely designed site. You've bought your hosting and URL and made sure your URL is pointed to your space, and you've developed your content, designed your pages, run usability tests, and validated your code — and it's all ready to go.

In other parts of the book, we take you through all of the steps leading up to this point. When you're ready to FTP your files to the server, here's how you do it:

  1. Open the Files panel.

    Make sure that you have turned cloaking on for any files or folders you don't want to publish. (Working files, while important, just clutter your host space and take up room, and you pay for that space.) Take a look at the Collapsed view section of this chapter to find out how to turn cloaking on.

  2. Select the folder you would like to cloak.

  3. Click the Options button in the upper‐right corner of the Files panel; it looks like a tiny bulleted list.

  4. Choose Site⇨Cloaking⇨Cloak to cloak the folder you selected. Or you can select from the same menu Settings to target specific file types.

  5. Connect to your remote server by clicking the Connect button on the Files panel toolbar.

  6. Click the Put button and click Yes when Dreamweaver asks whether you'd like to Put the entire site.

    If you've already posted your site, you can use the synchronize feature to post only new or updated content.

  7. Select the folder you want to synchronize (or select the main folder to synchronize the whole site).

  8. Select the folder(s) or files that you'd like Dreamweaver to consider while checking files to synchronize. Click the option menu button in the upper‐right corner of the Files panel and choose Site⇨Synchronize.

  9. Select a Direction — put new files to the remote server or get new files from the server.

    Synchronize works both ways. Make sure you choose the right direction or you could overwrite your newer files with older ones.

    Your options are

    • Put Newer to Remote: This uploads files from your computer to your remote Web server.

    • Get Newer from Remote: This Gets files that are newer and copies them to your local site.

    • Put and Get: This choice compares all the files and either Puts or Gets the newer files, depending on which copy is newest.

    You can also elect to have any files that exist on the remote site but not on your local site deleted. If you're very careful to make sure this doesn't affect anything, it can be a great way to clean up site files on the remote server.

  10. Click the Preview button.

    Dreamweaver calls it Preview to let you know that it's not actually posting or getting anything yet. It is compiling a list for you to see.

    Dreamweaver compares the local site with the remote site and presents you with a list of files that need to be updated. You can accept the list as is or you can select files in the list and remove them from the upload cue by clicking the Ignore File button (red circle with the line through it). Figure 5-16 shows the Synchronize dialog box with a list of files to be posted to the Web upon approval.

    Figure 5-16: The Synchronize dialog box.

  11. When you're ready to post, click OK.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint