• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Hour 21. Managing and Uploading Your Pro... > Understanding Dreamweaver's Web Site...

Understanding Dreamweaver's Web Site Management Capabilities

Use the Check In/Check Out capabilities of Dreamweaver to make sure that only one person is working on a file at a time. When you have a file checked out, no one else can check that file out until you check it back in, just like when you have a video checked out from the video store. Dreamweaver marks the file as checked out by you so that your collaborators know who to bug if they also need to make changes to the file!

When you check out a file from the remote site, Dreamweaver retrieves a copy of that file from the remote server to ensure that you have the most up-to-date version of the file in your local site. When Dreamweaver gets the file, it overwrites the file that exists on your local drive. The checked-out file appears to Dreamweaver users with your name beside it on the remote server, signaling your collaborators that you have checked it out. The file has a green check mark beside it in your local site, showing that you currently have that file checked out. If you entered your e-mail address while setting up the site, your name will be a link that launches an e-mail message to you.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint