• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint

Q&A

Q1:One of my co-workers left for a two-week vacation with a bunch of files checked out in his name. How can I work on these files while he is gone?
A1: When you attempt to check out the files Dreamweaver will warn you that someone else has them checked out. It will then ask you to override your co-worker's checkout. If you select the Yes button the files will now be checked out to you. You just hope that your co-worker hadn't made any changes to the files that he forgot to move up onto the remote site.
Q2:If I'm mirroring the Web server with the local site, aren't people are going to be able to see my site while it's still in progress?
A2: Yes, if they know the URL to your site. It's better to create a "staging area" somewhere that isn't public on your server as your remote site until you are ready to launch your completed site. When you are finished you can either upload the entire site to its final location or ask your Webmaster to direct the proper URL to your staging area.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint