• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 6. Managing a Web Site > Checking Files In and Out

6.4. Checking Files In and Out

Dreamweaver's File Check In/Check Out feature prevents two people from changing the same file simultaneously. If this feature is enabled, you must check out a file before you can edit it. Checking out a file will Get the file and let other users know that you are responsible for it. Another user cannot edit or check out the file until you check it back in (although they can view read-only copies of the file). When you check in a file, you relinquish control of it. Dreamweaver will Put the revised file to the live site, and other users will again be allowed to check it out. Therefore, when File Check In/Check Out is enabled, you can edit only those files that you have checked out. Files that are not checked out, or have been checked out by other users, are locked (uneditable).

The reference copy of a file always resides on the server. Checking out a file with Check Out initiates a revision process that ends when the file is checked back in with Check In. In a multideveloper environment, all files should be checked out before editing and checked in when completed to prevent file version conflicts. The File Check In/Check Out feature won't work properly unless all collaborators enable the feature and use it as intended.



PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint