• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 12. Administering Sitewide Services > Working with the Approval System

Working with the Approval System

For Contribute Web sites managed by a small number of individuals, the person who makes the changes often decides whether the altered page is ready to be published or not—and if so, publishes it. As organizations grow in size, the content contributor updating the site is often separate from the individual clicking the Publish button. It's not uncommon for the Contribute users in a department to consist of one manager with publishing privileges and one or more assistants who handle the workload; when a job is done, the new draft is sent to the manager to review and potentially publish. In larger organizations, there are likely to be several layers of review: a writer might make the initial update to a page and then pass it to a copy editor, who will look it over for proper grammar and sense; when the copy editor is satisfied, the draft is passed to a manager for final approval. The larger the organization—and the more important the Web site is to the bottom line—the more levels of approval are likely.

Luckily, Contribute has a built-in approval system that handles it all. As you've seen, every role has a publish option. If the publish option is enabled, users in that role have both Publish and Send for Review buttons in Contribute's Edit mode; if the option is disabled, those users only have the Send for Review button. What happens when the Send for Review button is clicked? Here's a typical scenario:


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint