• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint

Checking In Files

After you've finished working on a file, you can check it back in. That means two things: You're uploading the current version back up to the live site (or the staging server), and you're freeing up the file so others can work on it.

To check in files:

1.
In the local site, click to select the files or folders you want to check in (Figure 19.28)

Figure 19.28. I updated the files that I checked out earlier, and now I'm going to check them back in.


2.
From the Document window menu bar, select Site > Check In (Site > Site Files View > Check In on Mac OS 9). Or, click the Check In button.

3.
Respond to the Dependent Files dialog, as well as the Overwrite dialog box in Figure 19.29 or 19.30, if one appears.

Figure 19.29. You may get a dialog box like this if you try to overwrite a newer, single file, either when checking in or checking out.


Figure 19.30. You may get a dialog box like this if you try to overwrite a batch of files.


The file will appear with a locked icon on the local site. The Checked Out status will be removed from the remote server and your name will disappear from the Checked Out By column (Figure 19.31).

Figure 19.31. I checked the files back in, and now my name (Claude) is gone from the Checked Out By Column. When files have been checked into the site, they appear locked in the Local pane of the Site window. That's because you're supposed to check out a file before you edit it locally.



PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint