• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL

Lesson 6. Managing Your Site > Uploading Files

Uploading Files

You can use Dreamweaver to check which are the newest files on your local site. This way, you can update only files that have changed.

In the Local Files pane of the Site window, select the top-level folder Site—Lights of the Coast and choose Site > Synchronize.

The Synchronize Files dialog box opens.

From the Synchronize drop-down menu, choose Entire 'Lights of the Coast' Site. From the Direction drop-down menu, choose Put newer files to remote. Click Preview.

Dreamweaver will scan your site and compare the files located in both the local and remote folders. If you have the same files in both, Dreamweaver will compare the modification dates. Files that are newer in your local folder, or that do not exist on the remote, will be transferred to the remote folder. In this case, everything in your local folder will be put to the remote.

After Dreamweaver is done scanning the local and remote folders, it will open a list of the files that it determines are necessary to upload to the remote. This dialog box lists the action (Put or Get), the filename, and the status. For each file, you have the option to uncheck the action box, which would cause Dreamweaver to skip the file. The number of files to be updated is listed at the bottom of this dialog box.


The synchronize function Gets and Puts files, even if you are using Check In/Out. It will not check files in or out, it will merely replace them. You'll learn more about Check In/Out in the next exercise.

Find Lesson_06_Site/history.html in the list and uncheck the Put box for that file.


You can grab the vertical line separating the File and Status columns on the bar and move it to the right in order to see more of the filenames.

The history.html file becomes flagged by the word skip in the status column.

Click OK. Click Close when the synchronization is complete.

The Status dialog box appears showing you the progress of the synchronization. All the files in your local folder, except for history.html, are copied to your remote folder, LightsRemote.

This option could take a long time to execute, depending on the size of your site and the number of files that need to be transferred.


If you have changed only a few files, you might find it quicker to select the updated files and upload them manually so you don't have to wait for files to be transferred that may not need to be copied.

When the transfer is done, the list of site files will inform you how many files were updated.


You can click Save Log to create a log of the file transfer if you need to keep track of when files were transferred.

Open the lights.html file and click the image of the lighthouse around which the text wraps. Click the Reset Size button on the Property inspector and type Point Montara in the Alt text field. Save and close the file.

This file now has a newer modification date than the lights.html that exists in the remote folder.

Windows Users: When you open the lights.html file the Site window will automatically collapse back into the Site panel in the Files panel group. You will need to click the Expand/Collapse button again after you close lights.html.

In the Local Folder pane, select the top-level folder. Choose Site > Site Files View > Select Newer Local (Macintosh) or Edit > Select Newer Local from the Site window (Windows).

Dreamweaver compares the modification dates of all local files with the corresponding file information in the remote site and selects only the newest local files.

The history.html and lights.html files in the Lesson_06_Sites folder should be selected.

Click the Put File(s) button on the Site window toolbar to upload only the two selected files to the server.

The Dependent Files dialog box opens. Your choices are Yes, No, and Cancel. Yes sends any images on the selected pages, along with the HTML pages themselves, to the server. No sends only the HTML pages. If you've changed only the HTML page and the images are already on the server, you have no reason to send the images again, so you should click No. If you have modified an image or added an image to the page, you should click Yes.


The Dependent Files dialog box also contains the Don't Ask Me Again check box. If this option has been checked previously, you will not see the Dependent Files dialog box.

Click No if you see the Dependent Files dialog box.

You haven't modified any of the dependent files in this exercise, so it is not necessary to replace them in the remote folder, LightsRemote.


Remember that when you modify the size of an image in the Dreamweaver document window, as you did with the lightshine.jpg that had text wrapping around it in the lights.html file, you are only changing the attributes of that object in the HTML. The image source file itself, lightshine.jpg, did not change.

All the selected files in the local folder are copied to the remote site.


If you don't see the Dependent Files dialog box, but want to have the choice, choose Edit > Preferences. Select the Site category and check the two Dependent Files boxes for the options to Prompt on Get/Check Out and Prompt on Put/Check In.

When the upload has finished, you will see a list of files in the remote-site pane that mirrors the list in the Local Folder pane.



Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial

  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint