• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Removing Files

You may want to remove files when it's no longer appropriate for them to be on the project site, or remove their names from the document list. You might, for example, remove a preliminary comp after the design has progressed. You can remove the file from the external project site and still have its name appear on the document list in the main Sitespring application, or you can remove it from both the project site and the document list altogether. You might choose to leave the file on the document list if you plan on updating the file to present to the client again.

You might also leave the file on the list if you wish to retain the file's approval history. When you remove a file from a project site, its approval history is lost—so think twice before removing files.

To remove a file from the project site or a document list:

1.
Navigate to the Project Site details page for the project site that contains the document or group of documents you'd like to remove.

2.
If the Module Availability module isn't already expanded, open it by clicking the expand icon next to the module heading. The module opens.

3.
In the Module Availability module, locate the document list that contains the names of the documents you would like to remove. Open the Document List Manager page for that list by clicking the <edit> link in the Documents Published column (Figure 4.38).

Figure 4.38. Click the <edit> link to open the Document List Manager page.


4.
The Document List Manager page opens. Locate the files you would like to remove in the Files module. Select the documents by clicking the corresponding check box to the left of the Link Name column.

5.
To remove the files from the project site or the document list, do either of the following:

  • To remove the document or document group from the project site but leave them on the document list, click the Remove from Project Site icon (Figure 4.39). This prevents client users from seeing the documents.

    Figure 4.39. Click the Remove from Project Site icon to hide the document on the project site while still leaving its name on the document list.


    or

  • To remove the document or document group from the project site and the document list simultaneously, click the Remove icon (Figure 4.40).

    Figure 4.40. Click the Remove icon to remove the document from the document list and the project site.


6.
If you choose to remove the file or group of files from the project site only, the Document List Manager page reloads in your browser with the Visible column updated to No (Figure 4.41). The files no longer display on the project site, and step 7 will not occur.

Figure 4.41. When you remove a document from the project site but keep its name in the document list, the Visible column updates to No.


or

If you choose to remove the file or group of files from the document list and project site, the Remove Documents confirmation page opens. Click the Remove button to remove the files or click Cancel to leave them.

Removing a file from the project site also deletes its appoval history, if it had one.

7.
The Document List Manager page opens with the links and filenames removed from the Files module (Figure 4.42).

Figure 4.42. The Files module no longer displays the file removed from the document list and project site.


Tip

  • Using the Visible field can be confusing at first. Once a client has seen a file and approved it, you may want to remove the file from the client's view of the project site. If you set the file's Visible field to No, the file is hidden to the client but the record of the client's approval is retained. If you remove the file, the file's approval history is lost.


  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint