• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 4. Folders and Files > Reverting to Earlier Versions of Files

Reverting to Earlier Versions of Files

You can also revert to an earlier version of a file in the File Explorer. You can use the File Explorer to access an earlier version of a file only if there is a current version of the file in the project folder or one of its subfolders. If the file has been deleted from the project folder, the file will not appear in the File Explorer, and you will need to manually copy the earlier version in the _revisions folder and put it back into the project folder.

To retrieve or revert to an earlier version:

1.
Click the Files button in the main navigation bar.

The File Explorer opens.

2.
Locate the current version of the file whose earlier version you would like to revert to.

You can open and close subfolders by clicking the expand and collapse icons. If the server running Sitespring is sharing more than one top-level folder, you can choose another top-level folder from the pull-down menu at the top of the File Explorer.

3.
Click the check box to the left of the current version of the file. Click the Item Information icon at the top of the module (Figure 4.24).

Figure 4.24. Select the current version of the file and click the Item Information icon.


The file details page opens. The Revision History module lists information about the backup versions of the file stored in the _revisions folder.

4.
Locate the version you want to revert to.

5.
Click the check box to the left of the corresponding revision number. Click the Edit icon at the top of the Revision History module (Figure 4.25).

Figure 4.25. Select the revision you would like to revert to and click the Edit icon.


The file opens in the program assigned to that file type.

6.
Select Save As from the File menu. The Save dialog opens.

7.
Navigate to the folder that contains the current version of the file you would like to replace. In the File Name field, enter the name of the current version of the file. Click the Save button (Figure 4.26).

Figure 4.26. Within the program you use to edit the file, choose Save As from the File menu. Then save the file over the current version you're replacing.


A warning dialog opens asking if you want to replace the existing file with another that has the same name.

8.
Click the OK button to replace the file (Figure 4.27).

Figure 4.27. Click the OK button to confirm the file replacement.


The old version is saved over the current version, and the file is restored.

Tip

  • Don't worry if you accidentally revert to an earlier version of the wrong file. Since each version of a file is saved, even the version you just overwrote will still be there. Simply follow the same directions to revert back to the version you just overwrote.


  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint