• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Lesson 6. Managing Your Site > Using the Site Window

Using the Site Window

The Site window displays the file and folder structure of your site. You can add, delete, rename, and move files and folders here. By doing file maintenance within the Site window, you are assured that the paths that direct Dreamweaver and the browser to links, images, and other elements will stay correct, because Dreamweaver will be able to track your changes and update your files based on those changes. Conversely, if you make file or folder changes in Windows Explorer (Windows) or Finder (Macintosh), Dreamweaver doesn't recognize the changes and cannot keep the paths correct.

  1. Choose Site > Open Site to open the Site window. Select your site, DW4 Intro, in the list.

    The Site window opens showing only your local files. The default settings place your local files in the right pane of the Site window (the Local Folder pane). When you connect to the remote site, the remote files appear in the left pane (the Remote Site pane).

    The Site window's options are as follows:

    Connect/Disconnect connects to or disconnects from the remote site. By default, Dreamweaver disconnects the remote site if it has been idle for more than 30 minutes. Choose Edit > Preferences to change the time limit.

    Refresh does what you would expect: It refreshes the local and remote directory lists.

    Get File(s) copies the selected files from the remote site to your local site, overwriting any existing local copies. The files remain available on the remote site for other team members to get or check out. Put File(s) copies the selected files from the local site to the remote site without changing the file's checked-in or checked-out status.

    Check Out File(s) transfers a copy of the file from the remote server to your local site, overwriting any existing copies. The file is marked as checked out on the server. The check-out feature makes collaborating on a Web site easier. You can check in and check out files on the remote server; then others can see when you're working on a file and know not to edit that file at the same time. This option is not available if file check-in and check-out is turned off for this site. Alternatively, Check In File(s) transfers a copy of the local file to the remote server and makes the file available for editing by others. The local file becomes read-only. This option is not available if file check-in and check-out is turned off for this site. If Enable File Check-In and Check-Out is turned off in the Site Definition dialog box, getting a file transfers a copy of the file with both read and write privileges.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint