• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL

Lesson 13. Managing Web Sites > Exploring the expanded site window

Exploring the expanded site window

You will now take a look at the features of the expanded site window.

If necessary, expand the site window by clicking the double-arrow icon () in the bottom right corner of the site window.

You can drag the vertical tab bar between the two panes to resize them, if you wish. You may also want to move the site window to the bottom of your screen. This will help you keep it in view when you open site files.


To collapse the expanded pane, click the double-arrow icon at the bottom of the scroll bar for the left pane.

The expanded pane of the site window contains three tabs: Extras, Errors, and FTP (and WebDAV, if that module is active).

Click the Extras tab, if it is not already selected.

This tab contains four folders: Components, Designs, Site Trash, and Stationeries. These folders were created by Adobe GoLive and put into the Gage.data folder when you imported the site.

  • The Components folder stores HTML pages that you can embed inside others. You can make a single component, and use it again and again. Examples include a navigation bar set up with its own images and links, a copyright pane, or formatted text.

  • The Designs folder stores prototype designs that you have created for your current site. You can move a prototype design to your site once you have finished it.

  • The Site Trash folder stores any site objects that you have removed from your site, but not your hard drive. From here, you can either drag them into the desktop Recycle Bin (Windows) or Trash (Mac OS), or drag them back to your site.

About the Site Trash folder

Moving a file in the site window to the Adobe GoLive Site Trash folder is not the same as moving a file to the Recycle Bin (Windows) or Trash (Mac OS). A file or site object in the Site Trash folder remains on your hard drive, but is no longer included in your site. You can drag the file to the system trash and discard it permanently, or drag it back into your site structure.

You can change what Adobe GoLive does when you move items to the Site Trash folder by changing preferences. By default, items are not permanently thrown away, and you are warned before they are moved. To permanently discard site items:

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences to open the Preferences dialog box.

  2. Select Site, and then choose Move Them To The System Trash (Windows) or Move Them To The Finder Trash (Mac OS).

    This option sends all selected items straight to the system Recycle Bin or Trash, and not the Site Trash folder in Adobe GoLive.

  3. Click OK.

  • The Stationeries folder stores page templates that may contain framesets, images, style sheets, and so on, for repeated use.

At this point all four folders are empty.

Click the FTP tab to select it.

This tab is also empty. When connected to your FTP server, it lists all files and folders that you have uploaded to the server, along with the date they were last revised.

Click the Errors tab to open it.

This tab lists any errors in your site. Notice that several types of errors appear in it: an orphan file, an unspecified link (or empty reference), and some missing hypertext links.

Click the triangle to the left of the Orphan Files folder to expand it, if it is not already expanded. The one orphan file, Star.gif is displayed.



Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial

  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint