• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 17. Premiere Online > Purging Unused Clips

Purging Unused Clips

The final program rarely uses all the clips that you imported into the program. As a matter of housekeeping (and in preparation for online editing), you can remove the clips that you didn't use in the program. Although icons in the Project and Bin windows show you which clips are in the timeline, Premiere can identify these clips automatically and delete them from your project and bins.

To remove unused clips:

1.
Select a Project or Bin window (Figure 17.1).

Figure 17.1. Select a Project or Bin window.


2.
Choose Project > Remove Unused Clips, or press - (Mac) or - (Windows) (Figure 17.2).

Figure 17.2. Choose Project > Remove Unused Clips, or press - (Mac) or - (Windows).


Clips that are not used in the program are removed from the window. Unused clips in other windows and nested bins remain untouched (Figure 17.3).

Figure 17.3. Clips that are not used in the program are removed from the window.


3.
Repeat steps 1 and 2 to remove unused clips from other bins and nested bins.

4.
Save the file by doing either of the following:

  • Choose File > Save to save the changes.

  • Choose File > Save As to save the project under a new name.

    The references to files not used in the timeline are removed. You can delete them from the hard disk without affecting the project.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint