• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 6. Editing in the Timeline > Setting the Synch Option

Setting the Synch Option

The synch option controls whether one track or both tracks of a linked clip are affected when you select or edit a clip in the timeline. When the synch option is on, linked clips retain their link between video and audio. Selecting either the video or audio portion of linked clips selects both tracks. In Chapter 7, you'll see how changing the in or out point of a linked clip changes the point in both the video and audio portion of the clip. Setting the synch mode to on helps keep the synched relationship between the video and audio.

On the other hand, it's often useful to treat the video and audio portions of a linked clip independently. You may want to remove only the video or audio from the timeline. Or you may want to create a split edit, or L-cut, by setting different in or out points for the video than for the audio of a linked clip. (For more information about split edits, see Chapter 7.) Switching synch mode back on restores the link between the video and audio portions of a linked clip.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint