• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Getting Started > Restoring default preferences

Restoring default preferences

The preferences file controls how palettes and command settings appear on your screen when you open the Adobe After Effects program. Each time you exit from Adobe After Effects, the position of the palettes and certain command settings are recorded in the preferences file. If you want to restore the palettes to their original default settings, you can delete the current Adobe After Effects preferences file. (Adobe After Effects creates a preferences file if one doesn't already exist the next time you start the program and save a file.)

Note

Important: If you want to save the current settings, rename the preferences file rather than throwing it away. When you are ready to restore the settings, change the name back and make sure that the file is located in the Prefs folder in the folder in which you installed After Effects (Windows) or the Preferences folder in the System folder (Mac OS).



PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint