• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter One. Where to Start > Resetting the Preferences

Resetting the Preferences

Here's the quickest way to reset your preferences: Quit Photoshop and then, holding down Command-Option-Shift (PC: Control-Alt-Shift), relaunch Photo-shop. Click Yes in the resulting dialog, and then Photo-shop will delete the Preferences file, revert to the default settings, and resume its launch.

Some people suggest resetting the preferences on a regular basis as a form of “preventive medicine.” Although there's nothing wrong with this idea, it's worth remembering that any specific settings you've changed will be lost when you reset the preferences. The only time you need to delete the preferences is when things just aren't working right. On the other hand, if you work in a situation where a number of people share one workstation—a classroom, a shared scanning workstation, etc.—then you probably should consider resetting the preferences each time you start using Photoshop CS2. That way you can avoid any “odd” settings the previous person has used. (In theory, I suppose you could carry your own set of Photo-shop preferences with you on a thumb drive or iPod. That way, you could copy your perfectly tweaked preferences onto any computer, anytime, anywhere. Hmmmm….)


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint