• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Locking a Layer

Locking a layer is helpful when you want to see all of the objects on the layer, but you don’t want to accidentally move or delete any objects. Locking a layer also prevents you from adding new objects to that layer.

1.
Select the logo.

Notice when you select the logo that the selected layer on the Layers panel changes to the Logo layer.

2.
Resize and move the logo to make it fit within the height of the rectangle.

You can use the Scale tool as you learned in Lesson 2, or you can use the Pointer tool to drag one of the corner handles to change the size. Because all of the elements in the logo are grouped, all elements will be scaled together.

Tip

If you use the Scale tool, you just need to drag one of the corner handles to resize the logo. If you use the Pointer tool, then you also need to hold down Shift as you drag a corner handle to proportionally scale the logo.

3.
Click the Lock column (the column that displays a pencil) to the left of the Logo layer to lock the layer so its objects can’t be moved or deleted.

A lock icon appears in the column. The layer above the locked layer is now selected.

If a layer is currently selected, the Lock column displays a pencil. When you click the pencil, the Lock column displays a lock. A blank Lock column means the layer is not selected. When the layer is locked, you cannot select the layer or the objects on the layer. To unlock the layer, click the lock icon on the Layers panel.

Tip

Hold down Alt (PC) or Option (Mac) and click the Lock column to lock or unlock all layers at once.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint