• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 4. Editing Photos > Ways to undo changes to a photo

Ways to undo changes to a photo

  • After you've performed an action, to undo just that action, choose Undo from the Edit menu (). Keep choosing Undo to undo earlier actions.

  • To remove all changes from a photo, select it and choose Revert to Original from the Photos menu, or -click the image and choose Revert to Original from the contextual menu.

    If you are in edit mode and have made at least one change, iPhoto removes all changes from the photo that were made that session. In any other situation, iPhoto warns that you'll lose all changes to the photo, and swaps in the original image (Figure 4.52).

    Figure 4.52. To revert to the original version of an image after making a number of edits, select it and choose Revert to Original from the Photos menu. iPhoto warns you that you'll lose all your changes.


Recovering Originals

It turns out that Revert to Original isn't doing anything particularly hard. When you edit a photo, iPhoto makes a copy of the original in a folder called Originals that lives in the same directory as the image. As long as this happens, you can recover the original image no matter what might go wrong.

In fact, this is why Revert to Original works even if you edit a photo in another program—iPhoto starts tracking the original as soon as you double-click the photo. However, don't drag a photo from iPhoto to the Dock icon of another program to edit it; if you do so, iPhoto can't track the changes.

You can find an original image by sorting through the iPhoto Library's sub-folders manually, or you can select the desired image in iPhoto and use the Show Image File AppleScript script to display it in the Finder, after which you can find the original in the related Originals folder. (The script is available at www.apple.com/applescript/iphoto/.


✓ Tips

  • You can undo changes made in edit mode only until you save the changes to that photo, which is a step backwards from previous versions of iPhoto. Boo!

  • To see what the photo would look like if you were to undo a change, press . You must still choose Undo if desired.

  • iPhoto modifies the Undo command in the Edit menu to reflect your last action, so it may say Undo Crop Photo, for instance.

  • Anything you can undo via the Undo command, you can redo via the Redo command in the Edit menu.


  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint