• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 8. Sharing Photos > To share photos among users

To share photos among users

1.
With iPhoto not running, rename your iPhoto Library folder to Shared iPhoto Library (to avoid confusion) and move from the Pictures folder to the Shared folder at the same level as your user folder (Figure 8.1). The Shared folder may or may not contain other items.

Figure 8.1. Store your iPhoto Library folder in the Shared folder at the same level as your user folder, preferably with a slightly different name to avoid confusion in iPhoto Library Manager.


2.
Open iPhoto Library Manager, and drag the Shared iPhoto Library folder from the Finder into the iPhoto Library Folders list in iPhoto Library Manager to add it to the list.

3.
For each user, log in (using Fast User Switching if you're running Mac OS X 10.3) and repeat step 2.

4.
Log in to your main account again, select the Shared iPhoto Library folder in the list, choose Read & Write from each of the three Permissions pop-up menus, and select the two checkboxes underneath.

These settings cause iPhoto Library Manager to fix the permissions on the Shared iPhoto Library folder whenever necessary (Figure 8.2).

Figure 8.2. To set permissions properly for shared iPhoto Library folders, make sure all three pop-up menus are set to Read & Write and the two checkboxes underneath are selected.


5.
From now on, each user on your Mac should launch iPhoto by clicking the Launch iPhoto button in iPhoto Library Manager.

Permissions Problems

You must jump through these hoops to share an iPhoto Library folder because of how iPhoto assigns ownership and permissions to newly imported photos.

iPhoto Library Manager works around the problem by fixing permissions constantly. The techniques on the opposite page have similar effects: turning on Ignore Ownership on This Volume for an external drive ignores permissions entirely, and the issue disappears with network volumes because each user logs in with the same user name and password, thus ensuring that all newly imported photos are written with the same ownership.



PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint