• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint

Hiding Shared Resources

Hiding your valuables is a time-tested method of securing them from prying eyes and would-be thieves. When you share a resource on your network, however, you’re displaying that resource for all to see. Sure, you can set up password-protected user accounts and set the appropriate permissions for the resource, but others will still be able to see that the resource is shared.

To prevent this situation, it’s possible to share a resource and hide it at the same time. It’s also extremely easy to do: When you set up the shared resource, add a dollar sign ($) to the end of the share name. For example, if you’re setting up drive F for sharing, you could use F$ as the share name. This prevents the resource from appearing in the list of resources when you open a remote computer from the Network window.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint