• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 23. Accessing and Using Your Network > Deactivating the Sharing Wizard

Deactivating the Sharing Wizard

Sharing can be a complex business when you get into file permissions and other minutiae. Windows Vista minutiae are what this book is all about, so sharing holds no terrors for the likes of you and me. However, novice users want sharing to be simple and straightforward, and to that end Vista introduces the Sharing Wizard. This wizard presents the wary with a stripped-down set of sharing options and a method for letting other people know that a shared resource is available.

The Sharing Wizard activates by default, and in a second I’ll show you how to deactivate it. Just so that you know what you’re giving up, Figure 23.5 shows the initial wizard dialog box. You use the list to select a user account on your computer, and then you assign that user one of three permission levels: Reader (read-only), Contributor (read and write), or Co-owner (all permissions). When you click Share (and then enter your UAC credentials), the Sharing Wizard shows the address of the share and offers a link to email the share address to other people.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint