• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 2. Managing Files and Folders > Deleting and Restoring Files and Folder...

Deleting and Restoring Files and Folders

When you organize the contents of a folder, disk, or the desktop, you might find files and folders that you no longer need. You can delete these items or remove them from the disk. If you delete a file or folder from the desktop or from the hard disk, it goes into the Trash. The Trash, located on the right side of the Dock, is a temporary storage area for deleted files. The Trash stores all the items you delete from your hard disk so that if you accidentally delete an item, you can remove it from the Trash to restore it. Be aware that if you delete a file from a removable disk, it is permanently deleted, not stored in the Trash. The files in the Trash do occupy room on your computer, so you need to empty it to free up space.

Delete Files and Folders

Select the files and folders you want to delete.

TROUBLE? If an item is locked, you can't put it in the Trash. Click the File menu, and then click Get Info to unlock it.

Drag the selection to the Trash in the Dock.

TIMESAVER Press +Delete key to delete selected items.

Click the Finder menu, and then click Empty Trash.

TIMESAVER Click the Trash icon in the Dock, and then click Empty Trash, or press Shift+ +Option+Delete to empty the trash and skip the warning dialog.

Click OK to confirm the deletion.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint