• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint

Blocking a Buddy

If you no longer want to receive instant messages from a specific buddy, you can block the buddy from sending you instant messages. When you block a buddy, you appear to be offline to the person, who doesn't know blocking is turned on. Blocking a buddy moves them from your Allow list to your Block list in the Privacy pane of iChat Preferences.

Block or Unblock a Buddy

Click the iChat menu, and then click Preferences.

Click Privacy.

Click a privacy option:

  • Allow Anyone. Click to unblock everybody.

  • Allow People In My Buddy List. Click to unblock buddies in my Buddy List.

  • Allow Specific People. Click the option, and then click Edit List to select buddies.

  • Block Everyone. Click to block everyone.

  • Block Specific People. Click the option, and then click Edit List to add and remove buddies.

Select or clear the Block Others From Seeing That I Am Idle check box.

Select or clear the Block Rendezvous Users From Seeing My Email and AIM Addresses check box.

Click the Close button.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint