• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 2. Getting Started with Mac OS X > Logging In, Logging Out, Restarting,...

Logging In, Logging Out, Restarting, and Shutting Down Mac OS X

As you learned earlier, Mac OS X is a multiuser operating system, and so you must log in to be able to use it. The username and password with which you log in determine the user account that you use. To log in, you simply select the name of the user account, enter the password, and press Return. You will move to the desktop for that user account.

In older versions of the Mac OS, when you were done working with the computer and wanted to “turn it off,” you shut it down using the Shut Down command. Under Mac OS X, you can still do this, but you can also log out. When you log out, all the processes currently running are stopped and the user account is “closed.” To log out of the current user account, choose Apple menu, Log Out. In the confirmation dialog box, press Return or click Log Out. The processes that are currently running will be stopped (you will be prompted to save any open documents) and you will return to the Login dialog box.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint