• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 2. Working in Windows NT 4.0 > Deleting (and Recovering) Items Using th...

Deleting (and Recovering) Items Using the Recycle Bin

When you delete items in Windows NT—such as files, folders, and shortcuts—these items are moved to the Recycle Bin. This allows you to recover objects you accidentally deleted. When the Recycle Bin becomes full, you must empty it. Once you have emptied the Recycle Bin, it is impossible to recover a file you deleted previously.

The Recycle Bin appears as a trash can on the Desktop, but is actually a special type of folder. You can view the contents of the Recycle Bin by opening the Recycle Bin object from the Desktop. When you open the Recycle Bin, you see its contents displayed in a window (see Figure 2.47).


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint