• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint

Q&A

Q1: I have automatic login enabled. When I choose Log Out instead of Shut Down from the Apple menu, my computer requires me to log in the next time I use it. Doesn’t this produce the same effect as turning off automatic login from the Accounts preference panel?
A1: Not quite. After choosing Log Out, the computer returns to the login screen, but the next time someone chooses Shut Down, the computer opens to the account of the original user. If you’re certain that no one can log in through any of the user accounts, this is an easy way to keep people out of your files on a short-term basis without changing the settings for automatic login. However, if people can log in to another account, they could easily restart the computer and reach your account, too.
Q2: When I went in to change privileges on my files, I noticed that I could make it so that even I can’t read or write to my files. Why is that option available?
A2: If you’ve ever accidentally deleted an important file, you can see why this is an option. Sometimes it’s best to impose a few rules on yourself to avoid bigger problems. Remember, though, that file owners can always change the permissions, even after they’ve turned off read or write access for themselves.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint