• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Lesson 9. Managing Files with My Computer > Deleting Files and Folders

Deleting Files and Folders

When you delete files or folders from your hard disk or a network drive, they are removed from their current window and placed in the Recycle Bin. If necessary, you can recover them from the Recycle Bin (see Lesson 11 for more information on the Recycle Bin). However, if the file is on a floppy disk, it doesn't go to the Recycle Bin, so be very sure you want to delete files from a floppy disk.

Caution

Cut and Delete Have Different Results! When you delete a file, text, or item in Windows, you are either deleting it permanently or sending it to the Recycle bin, depending on your Windows default settings. Items that you Cut, using the menu command Cut, the Cut icon found on many toolbars, or the keystroke shortcut Ctrl+X, are sent to the Windows clipboard and retained there until you replace the clipboard contents with something new.



PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint