• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 5. Printing > Allow only certain people to use your printer

5.10. Allow only certain people to use your printer

When you're sharing your printer with other users on the network, you might want to restrict access to specific individuals, or deny access to a group of individuals. In either case, only those users who have the necessary permissions can print to the printer. In addition, you can specify the actions that individuals or groups can take with a printer, which include the following:


Print

The specified user or group can send documents to the printer's queue. Print permission is assigned by default to the Everyone group.


Manage Printers

The specified user or group has full control over the printer and can pause and restart the printer, change spool settings, share the printer, change printer permissions, and change printer properties. Manage Printers is by default assigned to the Administrators and Power Users groups.


Manage Documents

The specified user or group can pause, resume, restart, and cancel documents submitted by other users. This permission does not implicitly give the user or group the right to print to the printer or manage the printer. Use the Print and Manage Printers permissions for that purpose.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint