• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 8.  Sharing and Accessing Networ... > Turn off sharing altogether

8.10. Turn off sharing altogether

If you don't need to share your local folders or files with other users on the network, you can turn off sharing altogether. Doing so helps secure your computer from other users and saves a bit of memory by letting you unload the File and Printer Sharing service. After you disable the File and Printer Sharing service, you can still access shared folders and files on other computers. Disabling the service only prevents other users from accessing your computer.

8.10.1. Disable sharing

It's an easy task to disable sharing. You accomplish the task through the properties for the network connection:


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint