• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Lesson 9. Share One Mac with Multiple Users > Switch Users with a Click

Switch Users with a Click

The Mac has a feature called fast user switching that allows multiple users to stay logged in at the same time without having to close files or quit applications. If you're working on a newsletter and your teenager needs to do her homework, she can switch to her personal user environment, do her work, then you'll switch the Mac back to your user space—with your newsletter sitting there waiting for you. The important thing is that you didn't have to close your documents and quit your applications to log out.

When fast user switching is turned on, all users are listed in the top-right corner of your screen, next to the menu clock. The currently active user's name appears in the menu bar.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint