• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint

To delete a user

1.
From the Apple menu, choose “System Preferences…,” then click the “Accounts” icon.

2.
If the lock icon in the bottom-left corner is locked, single-click on it and enter the Admin name and password. Click OK.

3.
Click once on the name of the user you want to delete. If the user name is gray and you can't select it, that means that user is logged in. She must log out before you can delete the account.

4.
After you select the user, click the “minus” button at the bottom of the list of users pane.

5.
A drop-down sheet, shown below, asks if you really want to delete this user account.

Click “Delete Immediately” if you're certain you don't need anything the deleted user may have in her Home folder. The user account and all files in the user's Home folder will immediately disappear.

Click “Cancel” if you change your mind about deleting this user.

Click”ok” if that's what you really want to do. The contents of the user's Home folder will be compressed as a disk image format (.dmg) and saved into a “Deleted Users” folder located in the Users folder. This is a nice safety net in case you need to access that user's files later.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint