• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint

Closing a File

When you're done working on a file, you close its window. You can do this by clicking the window's close button, or you can use the application's Close command (Ctrl+W), which you'll find in the File menu.

When you close a file, the computer just removes the file from its memory. Closing is different from saving, and if you don't save your work before you close the file, any work you've done since the last save will be lost. If you haven't saved all your changes when you give the Close command, the program will usually notify you of that and ask you if you would like to save your changes before closing. If you don't get the “Save changes?” dialog box when you close a file without saving first, that's probably because your program has an automatic save feature that has already done the job for you.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint