• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 4. Edit > Edit Delete

Edit Delete

The Edit Delete option deletes the contents of the selected cells and adjusts the surrounding cell values as specified on the Delete dialog shown in Figure 4-10. Keep in mind that formatting and comments of the selected cells are also removed when using Edit Delete. If you want to delete the contents of the cells without moving any of the adjoining cells, you need to use the Edit Clear option.

Figure 4-10. Delete dialog


  1. Shift cells left. Deletes the selected cells and moves the contents of all cells on the right side of the selection to the left to fill the gap left by the deleted cells. For example, in Figure 4-10, if you delete cells D2 through D17 and select this option, the value of cell E2 is moved to cell D2 and cell F2 becomes E2, etc., for all remaining values on each row within the selected range of cells.

  2. Shift cells up. Deletes the selected cells and move the contents of the cells below up into the deleted cells. All cell contents below are shifted up to match the deleted space. For example, in Figure 4-10, the value of cell D18 would be shifted up to cell D2, the value of D19 would be moved to cell D3, etc.

Be careful when selecting either "Shift cells left" or "Shift cells up." These options move the values in the worksheet to the specified direction to cover up the hole left by the cells you have deleted. This can mess up your totals if you are not careful.


  1. Entire row. Deletes the contents of all rows within the selection and moves the contents of the rows below the selected rows up.

  2. Entire column. Removes the contents of all columns within the selection and moves the contents of the remaining columns to the left to fill the void.

  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint