• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 4. Edit > Edit Clear

Edit Clear

The Edit Clear option allows you to clear information from the selected range of cells. You can clear the formats, comments, contents, or everything in the cells by selecting the appropriate option on the sub-menu. If you clear a cell, the value of the cell becomes zero. Any formulas that refer to the cell will receive a value of zero.

Unlike Edit Delete, the cell contents are removed when using Edit Clear, but all adjoining cell values remain in their original location. When you select Edit Delete the contents of the cells are removed and the surrounding cells are adjusted to compensate for the removed cells.

When Not to Use the Edit --> Clear Option

If you want to be sure you do not remove the cell formatting or attached comments for the cell, use the Backspace or Delete keys. These commands only remove the contents of the cell.

  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint