• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 6. Working with Note Files > Sharing OneNote Files

Sharing OneNote Files

The next section in the Options dialog box (Open and Save) allows you to configure OneNote to be used by more than one person. When you open a OneNote file, a lock is placed on that file, which prevents it from being edited by another user. By default, 5 minutes after OneNote detects inactivity (the absence of typing, writing, or working with the menus), the lock is released and another user can edit the file, even if the first user still has the file open. When the second user edits the file, the first user is locked out until the second user has been inactive for 5 minutes. You can change this default locking interval to any number of minutes between 1 and 99,999. You cannot set the lock interval to 0 minutes. We'll cover sharing files later in Chapter 23, “Sharing and Collaboration.”

tip

Changing the location of your My Notebook folder can be a good way to clean the slate with OneNote. You'll start with a blank OneNote notebook. You can then back up your previous My Notebook folder to a CD for archival.



PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint