• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL

Cd Chapter 3. Customizing and Administer... > Creating and Deleting Users from Pro...

Creating and Deleting Users from Project Server

This chapter describes how to customize and administer Project Web Access for both the Standard and Professional editions of Project 2003. The user interfaces for customizing and administering Project Web Access for the Standard and Professional editions are almost identical. You will find notes in the text where there are differences between the two products.

In some cases, Professional edition parameters and options are available in the Standard edition. You can ignore those parameters and options; setting them does not affect how the Standard edition operates.

Every user of Project Server must have his or her own account with which to log on. The following sections describe how to manually create and delete user accounts, and how Project Server can create these accounts automatically.

Creating a New User Account

You can follow these steps to create a new user account in Project Server:

From within Project Server, select Admin, Manage Users and Groups. A grid of all available user accounts appears.

Click the Add User button. The Add User screen appears. First, you must select how this user will be authenticated. Your two options are NT authentication and Microsoft Project Server authentication. For more information on this topic, see the section “Using Project Server and/or Windows Authentication,” later in this chapter.

After you have selected an authentication method, enter the user account. If you have selected NT authentication, enter the username that the resource uses to log on to Windows, including the domain name, as follows: DOMAIN\username. If you have selected Project Server authentication, enter the name of the resource, as it appears in the project plan, or as you will enter it in the future.

Enter the email address for the new resource.

If you are using NT authentication, enter the resource's name in the User Name field. If you are using Project Server authentication, you must create a password for the account. Enter the new password in the Password and Confirm Password boxes.

Select the group(s) of which this user is a member. Under the Groups heading, select the group(s) that you want this user to be a member of, and then click Add.

Optional: Under the Categories heading, select the category or categories that you want this user to have access to, and then click the Add button. This step is optional because a category is usually assigned to a user group so that the category and related permissions are inherited from the user group. Setting permissions at the user level versus the group level may make it more difficult to manage later.

Optional: Under the same Categories heading, select which permissions, if any, you would like to define for the categories you selected. First, in the Selected Categories box, click the category for which you would like to define permissions. Then, in the box below, check the options you want to allow or deny this user. Optionally, you can select options based on predefined templates (see “Using Security Templates,” later in this chapter) by selecting a template from the drop-down list and clicking the Set Permissions with Template button.


If you add a user to multiple groups, it is possible that the permissions associated with each group's categories may conflict. That is, Group A may allow an option, and Group B may deny or not specify an option. The following rules govern this situation:

  • If any group's permissions specifically deny an option, then that option is denied for the user, even if other group permissions assigned to the user specifically allow the option.

  • If no group's permissions specifically deny an option and at least one group's permissions allow the option, then that option is allowed for the user.

  • If no group's permissions specifically deny or allow an option, then that option is denied for the user.

If a feature is configured as being not available for a Project server via the Manage Organization screen, then that feature's unavailability overrides any permissions that are allowed on a user or group basis.

Under the Global Permissions heading, set global permissions for the user. The process to do this is the same as the process used in step 8.

When you are finished, click Save Changes.


When a project manager publishes a schedule to a Project server, all resources in that schedule that don't already have Project server accounts have them created automatically and are assigned to the Team Member group.


For the Professional edition: Adding users to a Project server doesn't automatically add them to the enterprise resource pool. If you add them to the enterprise resource pool first, the server will automatically create project server accounts for them and assign them to the Team Member group.

  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint