• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 2. Sending and Receiving E-Mail > Deleting and Restoring Messages

Deleting and Restoring Messages

If you no longer need a message, you can delete it to unclutter your inbox and save space. When you delete a message, Outlook places it in the Deleted Items folder. The message remains in the Deleted Items folder until you empty it. The Deleted Items folder is a safety net for you in case you accidentally delete a message or any other item in Outlook. If you need to retrieve a message from the Deleted Items folder, you display the folder and then drag the message to another folder.

Delete a Message

Display your Inbox in the Folder list.

Click the message you want to delete.

Click the Delete button on the Standard toolbar or press Delete.

To permanently delete all the items in the Deleted Items folder, click the Tools menu, and then click Empty “Deleted Items” Folder.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint