• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 3. Managing E-Mail Messages > Cleaning Up Your Mailbox

Cleaning Up Your Mailbox

To improve the overall performance of Outlook, you can use Outlook's Mailbox Cleanup tools. Deleting unwanted or unnecessary messages reduces the number of messages that you have to manage. Deleting a message does not create more space on your computer. However, when you delete a message, Outlook moves the message to the Deleted Items folder, where it remains until you empty the folder. If you decide that you need the message that you deleted or if you delete it by mistake, you can move a message from the Deleted Items folder. However, when the Deleted Items folder has been emptied, the messages are permanently removed. Mailbox Cleanup provides the options and settings for keeping your folders as up to date as possible.

Set Outlook to Clean Up Your Mailbox

Click the Tools menu, and then click Mailbox Cleanup.

Use the available options:

  • View the total size of your mailbox and of individual folders within it.

  • Find items older than a certain date or that are larger than a certain KB size.

  • Archive items using AutoArchive.

  • View the size of your Deleted Items folder, and then click Empty.

  • View the size of your Conflicts folder, and then click Delete.

Click Close.

See Also

See “Archiving Messages" on page 68 for information on keeping the messages you want and indicating the timeframe for keeping them.


  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint