• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 4. Editing Cell Content > Deleting the Contents of a Cell

Deleting the Contents of a Cell

You'll want to delete cell content whenever you have entered content in error or need to take content from one place to another. Following are several methods available for deleting cell content—one or more of them will work depending on your particular situation:

  • Select the cell or cells and press Delete. This removes the content of the cell(s), with no prompts from the software.

  • Click in a particular cell and type replacement content. This deletes the original content and inserts new data.

  • Delete the entire cell, which shifts cell content from other cells into the deleted area (covered in the next section).

  • Select your cell or cells, and choose Edit, Clear. This menu command results in a submenu, offering options for you to indicate what you want to clear, as shown in Figure 4.11. (Alternatively, you can right-click the selection and choose Clear Contents.)


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint