• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Hour 3. Managing Documents > Deleting Documents

Deleting Documents

You can delete files in either the Save As or Open dialog box. Make sure that the file you want to delete is not open. Display either dialog box, and delete the file by using one of these methods:

  • Right-click the file and click Delete in the context menu.

  • Select the file and click the Delete toolbar button at the top of the dialog box (the black X).

  • Select the file and press the Delete key.

  • Select the file, click the Tools button at the top of the dialog box, and choose Delete.

The Confirm File Delete message box appears to ask whether you want to send the document to the Recycle Bin. Click the Yes button. If you later want to get the document back, you can double-click the Recycle Bin icon on your Windows desktop, right-click the file, and choose Restore in the context menu. The file reappears in the folder in which it was originally stored.

If you want to delete more than one document, select them all before issuing the Delete command. (To select adjacent documents, click the first one and Shift+click the last one. To select nonadjacent documents, select the first one and then Ctrl+click the remaining ones.)

If you delete a file from a network drive or a removable drive (a floppy or Zip drive, for example), it does not go to the Recycle Bin—once it's gone, it's gone.


  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint