• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Hour 18. Collaborating on Documents > Tracking Changes to a Document

Tracking Changes to a Document

The cornerstone of Word's collaboration features is track changes. This feature lets you track the revisions (insertions, deletions, and some formatting changes) that are made to a document. When the feature is turned on, any text you insert in the document is displayed in color with an underline, or off to the side in a “balloon,” depending on the view you're using. Text you delete is shown in color with strikethrough, or off to the side in a balloon. If more than one person edits a document, each person's changes show up in a different color. When you are ready to finalize a document, you can go through and accept or reject each tracked change. Accepting changes will remove any deleted text and incorporate any additions into the original document. Rejecting changes reverts your document to the original text. You can accept and reject each change independently or all changes at one time with or without reviewing each one individually.

As you work with tracked changes, you will use the buttons in the Reviewing toolbar, shown in Figure 18.7.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint