• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL

Chapter 5. Using .Mac Sync > Unregistering a Mac

Unregistering a Mac

When you perform a synchronization to your .Mac account, the Mac that performs the synchronization is automatically registered with your .Mac account. If you sell your Mac or otherwise don't want to use it with your .Mac account, you can unregister it from your .Mac account, so that it's no longer eligible for synchronization.

To unregister a Mac

From the Apple menu, choose System Preferences.

The System Preferences application launches, and the main System Preferences window opens.

Click the .Mac icon.

The .Mac pane opens, with the Account tab selected.

Click the Advanced tab.

The .Mac Advanced preferences load, showing all computers registered to be synchronized with your .Mac account (Figure 5.15).

Figure 5.15. The Advanced tab lets you control which computers are authorized to synchronize with your .Mac account, as well as reset synchronization data.

From the Registered Computer list, select the computer that you want to unregister and click the Unregister button.

A sheet slides down, asking if you're sure that you want to unregister the selected computer (Figure 5.16).

Figure 5.16. Before you're allowed to unregister a computer, a sheet slides down to ask if you're sure—and to warn you of the consequences (which are minor). Click Unregister.

Click Unregister.

After a short wait, the selected computer is unregistered and no longer appears in the list (Figure 5.17).

Figure 5.17. After you unregister a computer, it no longer appears in the Registered Computer list.

From the System Preferences menu, choose Quit (Command-Q) to quit System Preferences and save your .Mac sync changes.

System Preferences quits.



Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial

  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint