• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 9. Networking with Microsoft Win... > Understanding Share Permissions

Understanding Share Permissions

As mentioned in the previous section, the level of access that a user has to a share on the network will depend on the level of share permission afforded that user (in reference to the share). When you share a volume or folder on the network, the default share permission assigned to the newly created share is Read-only for the Everyone group (all users on the network belong to the Everyone group).

A share permission is merely the access level that you give to a particular user or group of users in relation to a particular share on your file server (or other server on the network). Setting the share permission for a folder or volume also sets the share permission level for the files contained in the share.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint