• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 6. How to open and use an Applic... > Delete or Clear and the Clipboard

Delete or Clear and the Clipboard

Now, the Delete key (on the upper-right of the main group of keys) works a little differently from the Cut command:

Delete: If you hit the Delete key while something is selected, whatever is selected is deleted but is not placed on the Clipboard.

This means if you are holding something in the Clipboard to paste in again, whatever you delete from your document will not replace what you are currently holding in the Clipboard.

But it also means that you don't have that deleted item anymore—whatever you delete is really gone and cannot be pasted anywhere (you can Undo).

Clear, in the Edit menu, does the same thing as the Delete key.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint