• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 16. Publishing a FrontPage Web S... > Front and Center: Removing Unused Fi...

Front and Center: Removing Unused Files

Many hosting companies will set a quota on the amount of disk space you can use on your Web site. In order to stay within that quota, you might find yourself deleting files from your Web site in an attempt to clean out the clutter. It's a great idea provided you don't make a mistake and delete a file that you need. Remember, FrontPage has no recycle bin! In order to prevent any downtime on your Web site, you can use FrontPage's synchronization features to organize and clean up your Web site.

Open your local Web site and locate and delete any files that you no longer need. Test your site after each deletion and use the FrontPage reports to ensure that you haven't broken any links. Once you have everything working after cleaning up your local site, publish your Web site to your host and select the option to synchronize the sites. FrontPage will prompt you to delete the same files on the remote Web server that you deleted on your local machine. By letting FrontPage's synchronization features handle the cleanup, you greatly reduce the risk of deleting the wrong file by mistake.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint