• Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

Chapter 16. Layers > Deleting layers

Deleting layers

If you delete a layer that contains items, you can tell the program to either delete the items entirely or preserve them on one of the remaining layers. Every layout must be left with one layer, but it doesn't necessarily have to be the Default layer.

To delete a layer or layers:

1.
Click the layer you want to delete. Or to delete multiple, consecutive layers, click a layer, then Shift-click the last layer in the series; or Cmd-click/Ctrl-click nonconsecutive layers. Next, click the Delete Layer button at the top of the Layers palette.

or

To delete one layer, Control-click/Right-click the layer you want to delete and choose Delete [layer name] from the context menu.

2.
If any of the layer(s) you're deleting contain items, the Delete Layer dialog box will open :

Click Delete items on selected Layer(s) to have all the items on the selected layer(s) be deleted from the layout.

or

Click Move items to Layer and then, from the pop-up menu, choose which layer you want the items from the deleted layer or layers to be moved to (not a locked layer).

If you want to save the items from a layer you're deleting, choose the layer you want to move the items to from the Move items to Layer pop-up menu.


3.
Click OK. You can undo this.


PREVIEW

                                                                          

Not a subscriber?

Start A Free Trial


  
  • Creative Edge
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint